Dharma Twitter Combat – The Transcripts

@DrumsofDharma asks for transcripts @DrumsofDharma gets a transcript.

It is by no means complete but I tried to get most of it there. This took me much of my morning when I should have been working out and sitting so please digest the conversation. Let me know of any ommisions and comment or criticize. Either way.

I should comment again that I respect both Dharma combatants but I tend to go towards the non-academic practice. Cheers!! All hail Gary Busey

@ZenDirtZenDust How do real life exp. help us in seeing our Buddha-nature?

@ZenDirtZenDust Zen is like learning a foreign language. It is immersion that works best. It is hard but productive. #buddhism #zen

@mujaku What else do we have? It is all our exp. and our perceptions of exp. Zen/Buddhism/Xianity help provide framework. Is all.

@mujaku We immerse ourselves in many things. To immerse only in Buddhism is mistake. Moderation in all things, inc. Buddhism. Fun convs.

@ZenDirtZenDust Zen practice is not mere repetition of a form. It is attempting to tune into our Buddha-nature daily.

@mujaku Agreed. And we tune in through real life exp into our Buddha-Nature. Otherwise we are armchair buddhists. Is fine but I practice.

@ZenDirtZenDust Zen is more about developing our intuition and being a Sam Spade Zen detective, than experience. Mind is hard to see.

@ZenDirtZenDust To uncover our Buddha-nature is hard work on many levels. Immersion helps to start the ball rolling so we can progress.

@mujaku We agree is hard but dif. people have dif. levels of dharma understanding & ability. Some contemplate and some sweep the dust. I swp

@ZenDirtZenDust Most experiences teach us we never learn from them. But tuning in to our Buddha-nature requires a heaven soaring spirit.

@mujaku Do YOU have a “heaven soaring spirit”? Enough rhetoric. How do you get one? Is it magic?

@ZenDirtZenDust Lots of good karma and knowing the difference between brass and gold. 🙂

@ZenDirtZenDust It is not my words but the root of my long tongue you should look at, if you have the eyes to see this root. 😉

@mujaku Metallurgy and reptilian tongues does not a Buddha make. Gold is only as valuable as we make it…

@ZenDirtZenDust All Buddhas have a long tongue—and they freely give out Dharma gold to anyone who notices them.

@digitalzendo @mujaku I enjoy this back & forth much. I hope we can continue this later, but I must work. Dharma Battles on twitter!

@ZenDirtZenDust In the Dharma!

BLAHBLAHBLAH…New conversation

Zen w/o jargon can easily turn into New Age Zen or Zen w/o meaning

Zazen really means sitting-dhyana “sitting” being added later. Its root is dhyai which means contemplate, meditate, think. #buddhism #zen

dhyana can lead to one-pointedness samadhi, samadhi being mind coming into contact with Mind (the nonlocal background of all). #buddhism

In the Mahabharata dhyana means to be like a log—a kind of catatonic state. This too is silent illumination Zen (mokusho). #buddhism #zen

Before Bodhidharma the most prominent Dhyana master in China was Buddhabhadra (359–429) who trans. the Zen Sutra. #buddhism #zen

The 4th Dhyâna frees from the fault of inhalation and exhalation, i.e., the cessation of ‘body composing’ (kâya-samskâra). #buddhism

Some Buddhists are trying to market the idea of anti-substantialism: that the Buddha said there is no absolute. Well, it ain’t so. #buddhism

The tenor of the Buddha’s teaching was stop clinging to temporal phenomena. You’re intrinsically eternal & undying—so realize it! #buddhism

@digitalzendo Seeing our Buddha-nature, first hand, ain’t easy. I guess you could say such a difficulty is also esoteric.

@mujaku Zen w/o jargon is on how my experience has not been esoteric, non-understandable. No mysteries, nothings hidden, nothing mystical

@mujaku I’m not a new ager for sure….

@digitalzendo Seeing our Buddha-nature, first hand, ain’t easy. I guess you could say such a difficulty is also esoteric.

@mujaku Quote and define all You want, but what about the real life experiences. What about fire in the knee, what of falling asleep?

@digitalzendo “real life experiences” don’t count much when it comes to seeing the Mind that Huang-po discussed which is beyond knee pain.

@mujaku What is your experience of facing the iron wall, what about finding “Not what you expected?”

@digitalzendo The only wall anyone faces is the great wall of avidya when it comes to seeing their Unborn Mind.

@mujaku My drive is to get past the stink of Zen as it’s portrayed and truly show Zen is truly nothing special but This present moment.

@digitalzendo Bodhidharma so-called wall-gazing in Tib. is “yang dag la phyogs” which means “facing or turning to the real.”

@mujaku When Genki Takabayashi Roshi 1st came, they translated his name a Mystery before the black, before black. initially he was ok w/ it

@digitalzendo The stink of Zen is Zen rhetoric—acting Zen. When we see the pure Mind, there is no act we can put on. #buddhism #zen

@mujaku But letter when his understand of English got better, he screamed “No Mystery! Being Mysterious or esoteric is not Zen!”

@digitalzendo I beg to differ. I have found that seeing Mind requires a talent for hitting a target ordinary minds can’t see. #buddhism

@digitalzendo “real life experiences” don’t count much when it comes to seeing the Mind that Huang-po discussed which is beyond knee pain.

RT @mujaku: “real life experiences don’t count much when it comes to seeing the Mind that Huang-po” 100% wrong that is TOTAL CRAP/insane

RT @mujaku: stink of Zen is Zen rhetoric, acting Zen. When we see pure Mind, there is no act we put on. #buddhism #zen Stop quoting then

@mujaku Show us your Zen, don’t quote it through others. Quotes can be an artificial barrier

@mujaku Please know, I’m not downing YOU as a person. I’m speaking to something else, which is to not mislead in the practice of the way

@digitalzendo the prize is seeing our luminous Mind. All else is basically bunk. The real practice is trying to see this Mind.

@mujaku But that’s my point, Ordinary Mind is The Way! Nothing special as You would claim.

@digitalzendo The only wall anyone faces is the great wall of avidya when it comes to seeing their Unborn Mind.

@mujaku Why would you consider IT a prize, when IT’s something that you already have.

@digitalzendo Bodhidharma so-called wall-gazing in Tib. is “yang dag la phyogs” which means “facing or turning to the real.”

@digitalzendo Our temporal mind is the path or way—but Buddha Mind is the goal. We have to see what Gautama saw.

RT @mujaku: “but Buddha Mind is the goal.” We don’t get enlightened. We cease being deluded. You arrow misses again.

@digitalzendo If you’ve attained the Buddha Mind it is nothing special. It has been there all along covered up by layers of perturbations.

RT @mujaku: “If you’ve attained the Buddha Mind it is nothing special. ” Have You or are You Buddha Mind? Please show This!

@digitalzendo You only have in potentially—never actually. Even to accept that we have such a Mind potentially is hard for some.

@mujaku My mother shows me her mastery as she MIndfully “Needle Points.” I value that more that your lofty words

@digitalzendo “Buddha” means awakened or enlightened. When the perturbations are removed there is Buddha Mind. One is on target.

RT @mujaku: “Buddha means awakened or enlightened.” By your definition, but what about by your experience. The menu is not the meal.

@digitalzendo If you have such a Buddha eye to see it, then you must know that I have shown it.

RT @mujaku: “the root of my long tongue you should look at.” I have a short tongue & will share rice krispie treats w/ U. No seeing W/ U

@digitalzendo It is not my words but the root of my long tongue you should look at, if you have the eyes to see this root. 😉

@digitalzendo It’s good to come from the same root. Long tongue, short tongues. They wag freely today preaching Dharma!

RT @mujaku: “Thus root sustains us all, yet few make offerings to it. ” No beginning and No End. There is not root. Arrow misses again

@mujaku Zen my friend is not in lofty things. Just live the 8fold Path, lets dedicate our life to that & that could be enough to get us home

@digitalzendo My experience is shameful. I neglected myself living in poverty when I had gold in my basement and didn’t know it.

@digitalzendo Thus root sustains us all, yet few make offerings to it. But still we will wag our tongues (even forked ones) showing Dharma.

@digitalzendo The root has neither beginning nor end—what root do you think I’m discussing? It moves this old rice bag through the day!

@digitalzendo The 8 and the 10-fold path lead to this old root. I bow to this holy root without which we couldn’t have this great

@mujaku You’ve quoted yourself out. You really can’t express the root, can you?

RT @Ryan98391: Be very very quiet. Mujaku is reading. Wink. Maybe we’re going to get past the quote-a-thon and get to This point

@digitalzendo When have I not shown its function? That is easy. The hard part is seeing it directly. [I went to Alon’s to buy some sweets]

@digitalzendo dense or etheric means/upaya—covering and blocking the view of Mara, the essence saves all who would go to it.

@mujaku Your words are dense as lead. They cover everything and pretty much block the view.

@digitalzendo Zen is about from where words & actions originate. This is what the old rice bag pointed to during his ministry. #buddhism

@mujaku When I’m having difficulties or hurting. My friends give me a kind of hug. Even on twitter. No grandiosity. They are themselves.

@mujaku That action sspeaks directly. It’s not the words we say. It’s about how we are. That’s what Buddha DISPLAYED in his actions.

@digitalzendo When you are not ready—tathata is present. And when you are, you can’t miss its true benefit.

@mujaku I’m not sure it You are aware, but Zen/Tao adapts to It’s circumstance. Maybe drop complexity & simplify. This is 2009.

@digitalzendo T’ang Zen, 2009 Zen—same suchness.

RT @mujaku: Zen is about from where words & actions originate. No it’s not. You’re brandishing your lead again.

@digitalzendo I feed you ambrosia (amrita) and you gripe about the food! What an old curmudgeon!

@mujaku No need to go to the “Bodhi Tree.” Okay now I have to say you’d drown. SPeak only if you can improve silence please.

@digitalzendo What closes your mouth or lets you wag your tongue is what I am referring to. How could you miss that?

@mujaku Have you ever trained as a “Monastic?”

@digitalzendo Taken the 227 vows or the Meiji era Edict no. 133 of take wives, eat meat, and shave your head?

@digitalzendo Did you take the pratimoksa (the way that absolutely frees)?

@mujaku When the real YOU is ready, we will all be here to support You. We care 4 You. take the time 2 honestly work on yourself. ~Seiho

@digitalzendo Holy Brahma, I’ve searched for me in me and came up empty. And that was a relief. How about you?

@digitalzendo There is nothing is the five skandhas worth supporting; and what is not the skandhas, well, he is still on Rajaghrha.

2 thoughts on “Dharma Twitter Combat – The Transcripts

  1. Thanks for posting the transcript!

    I had read 'Zen Flesh, Zen Bones' in high school and figured it was time to dust off that interest and look into it more in depth. I was curious about the current zen tradition a few days ago, so I decided to follow a few people on Twitter and see what they had to say. I read Brad's latest book in an effort to get a flavor of what 'modern' zen is about–including a few articles on Dharma Punx and a few blogs. This was all cross-referenced with skimming the histories of the various schools and looking for correlations.

    Pretty safe to say, my curiosity has been satisfied. No need for more.

    Good luck with your practices!

  2. Thanks for the comment…"Zen Flesh, Zen Bones" has been sitting in my "to read" pile for a while and I should pick it up.

    The flavor of modern zen is varied and I think that is it's strength. When we try to translate Zen into a western audience without allowing it to evolve we make a mistake. I think more and more people are realizing that.

    Practice away!

    No illusions,
    Jack

Comments are closed.