Mustaches and Buddhism

Adam over at Home Brew Dharma made the move to WordPress with the rest of us crazy Buddhist Bloggers (well, two of us anyway).  He brings up an interesting movement that he is involved in (not SGI).

Also, I have decided to join a global movement that is bringing much needed attention to cancers that affect men. I’m doing this by growing a Moustache this Movember, the month formerly known as November. My commitment is to grow a moustache all November to change the face of men’s health and I want you to join me.

The funds we raise during our Moustache journey go to the Prostate Cancer Foundation and the Lance Armstrong Foundation (LIVESTRONG).

What many people don’t know is that 1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer in their lifetime and that testicular cancer is the most common cancer in men aged 18-35. Facts like these have convinced me I should get involved.

To join my Movember team called The Cop Mops go to http://us.movember.com/register/25607.

I plan on joining up or at least getting the information (You better post pictures of your fledgling ‘stach).  But to sweeten the pie I would like to mention that there is a great correlation between mustaches and enlightenment

Here are a few examples…

 

Me with "Western" mustache (not to be confused with "Traditional" mustache)

Me with "Western" mustache (not to be confused with "Traditional" mustache)

 

Kyle ~ The self-proclaimed master of Squirrel-Mind and advocator of prostrations

Kyle ~ The self-proclaimed master of "Squirrel-Mind" and advocator of prostrations

@Mujaku AKA The Zennist

@Mujaku AKA The Zennist

Magnum P.I. ~ Well-known for his "Crazy Wisdom" thought to originate from mustache tendrils that dive deep into your soul.

Magnum P.I. ~ Well-known for his "Crazy Wisdom" thought to originate from mustache tendrils that dive deep into your soul.

Little known fact that the Dalai "The South Will Rise Again" Lama used to have a mustache and was an avid Civil War Re-enacter.

Little known fact that the Dalai "The South Will Rise Again" Lama used to have a mustache and was an avid Civil War Re-enacter.

Bodhidharma, the founder of Zen Buddhism represented by this Daruma doll. It is depicted as a red, round head with a mustache, and no eyes.

Bodhidharma, the founder of Zen Buddhism represented by this Daruma doll. It is depicted as a red, round head with a mustache, and no eyes.

Cheers,

John

7 thoughts on “Mustaches and Buddhism

  1. hahahahaha. Thanks for the plug. I’ll definitely be posting before, during, and after photos.

    I’m a goatee man myself. I’ve tried growing the ‘stache before. Let’s just say that I hope “To catch a Predator” isn’t in my neighborhood in November…….

    But as it is for a worthy cause, and I’ll get to look silly for a reason, I’m diving in upper lip first. Cheers.

  2. I can grow two huge hairs on a mole on my neck… other than that, I can’t grow a ‘stache… I’ve tried.

Comments are closed.