Trials and Tribulations of Home-Practice

Can I get a home first?

I rarely get excited about anything that is popping up in the popular Buddhist publications (these, in particular) but, Buddhadharma is running an entire issue (Spring 2010) on home-practice and reached out to the online community to comment.

Do you have a meditation practice and follow the Buddhist teachings but don’t belong to a Buddhist community, or sangha, and don’t have a Buddhist teacher? If so, you’re part of a growing community of unaffiliated Buddhists in North America. In the Spring 2010 issue of Buddhadharma: The Practitioner’s Quarterly we’ll be focusing on unaffiliated Buddhists and we’d like to hear from you.

This seems like wonderful opportunity for some of us to really and truthfully explain our practice (the good, the bad and the worse).  I hope that a diverse sample of home-practioners reply and get printed.  I would love to see how practice in home differs from person to person and tradition to tradition.  But I am not underestimating the power of “fluff” in this case.  I’m hoping that it doesn’t end up being a bunch of smiley-faces and middle-class, suburban wall-watchers.  This is a chance for some under-represented practitioners to begin to represent a bit.

I rambled on over in the comments earlier today but it was in between two dealines and far too much coffee so I think I came off as a bit…animated.

Cheers,

John

4 thoughts on “Trials and Tribulations of Home-Practice

  1. Hi,

    “I’m hoping that it doesn’t end up being a bunch of smiley-faces and middle-class, suburban wall-watchers.”

    Why? If the majority of home practitioners do indeed turn out to be happy middle-class people, then so be it. There’s nothing wrong with smiling and being middle-class.

    But, yes, it is interesting stuff, and it will be good to see the types of practice featured.

    All the best,

    Marcus

    • If this were a scientific survey (PEW) then I would be all about the exact numbers and such. But their is an opportunity to bring some broadness to this feature and I hope that they take it.

      From my personal viewpoint we are all home-practitioners at some point.

      I have nothing against smiley, middle-class white people but I have heard plenty from them already. Would like to see something more diverse.

      Deep bows,

      John

  2. The thing is that, regardless of majority, there are definitely a diverse group of practitioners out there, and I, too, would like to see a bit about that wide range.

    I actually like and subscribe to Buddhadharma, while still questioning some of what they are doing. Lately, they’ve been more willing to look at issues of younger adult practitioners, race and dharma, money and dharma, etc. This is a positive development. Of the big 3, (Tricycle and S. Sun being the other two), Buddhadharma regularly has the most substance. So, it’s good that they are the ones covering the home practice issue.

    • I don’t receive Buddhadharma out here just yet but may begin to request it if they are going in that direction. From their blog post, it sounds like they want a broad picture and hopefully they span a bit outside the norm for their ilk (Tricycle, Shambhala Sun).

      Funny thing – Shambhala Sun and Buddhadharma are from the same publishers.

Comments are closed.