Esoteric Buddhism, Visualizations and Orc-Sex

There are many gems in Esoteric Buddhist practice and I wish I had time to explore them all.  The following is from The Tantric Mysticism of Tibet by John Blofeld.

At the superficial level, the practice (of Yielding) is that of keeping the high goal in mind at all times night and day.  For example, while eating, the adept equates his own body with the body with the ultimate goal by visualizing it as a diety and mentally converts each mouthful of food into an offering that must be made with reverence…

For me this sounds alot like mindfulness with just a smidge of reverence added in for flavor.  In the case of this visualization, you are mindful because you are placing a reverence upon the food that you are ingesting.  Similar, in Zen monasteries, the eating of meals is highly ritualized and is, in and of itself, a reflection on and practice of the Dharma.  Incidental or mundane events in your daily life become ritualized.  Visualizations, for me, are like adding sugar to your tea or cream to your coffee.  Some like the acidic tang and others like to sweeten it up. 

Either way, it depends upon mood and atmosphere.

From the same text…

During sexual intercourse, he withdraws his mind from his immediate environment, equates his urge with the urge for Liberation and directs the force of it to his longing for the goal.

Ok, esoteric Buddhism says some crazy shit sometimes.  First off, when one rarely gets laid why, OH WHY, would you want to withdraw from intercourse mentally?  Now if you are working with a visualization and say your visualizing deity is Green Tara, then I can see this process working (maybe). 

Green Tara

Now if it is this dude?

Fudo Myo-o

I think I may have a little bit of trouble sealing the deal.  And I am certain my wife isn’t going to appreciate the blood-curdling screams that I am sure to be releasing.  I mean the guy is on fire, has a whip and a sword.  Not particularly going to set the mood (for me or her).

Back to the text…

…he transmutes his perceptions so that, while his physical action proceeds in the normal way, his mind functions in a different dimension:  Doer, act and object are all visaulized in abstract forms not closely related to their physical counterparts; the only links between them are the force of desire and the bliss of enjoyment.

*sigh*… I may just stick with meditating and will have plenty of time for it when I explain to my wife that I am either focusing on the green chick from Star Trek or what basically looks like something out of Lord of the Rings.

I can put it into simpler terms – Practice every aspect of your life as if you were in a temple.  Provide the reverence you would show at a mountain hermitage to the daily movements of your day.  Don’t disengage from them.  Rather engage them fully.  Sweet tea or bitter; it is still tea.

Or even simpler – Buddhism – Like Orc-sex but with mantras.

Cheers,

John

Update!

Thanks to my Dharma Drinking Buddy Don for bring up this delightful aspect…

The green Tara has a couple of hot sisters: white and red Taras with different mudras and aspects. Tantric Buddhist sex is not mentioned much in Blofeld but if you are interested, you can get a book on the practice of Vajrayogini, an uber hot red diety that wants you to have sexual fantasies about her. [seriuosly, but you have to die during the visualization…. (oh crap)]

Indeed, Don!  Tough practice but what a way to go!

16 thoughts on “Esoteric Buddhism, Visualizations and Orc-Sex

  1. Buddhism – Like orc-sex but with mantras.

    Buddhism – Like it or we’ll punch you in the nads.

    Why bother with all that other crap?

    Oh and the green chick in star trek was uber hot.

  2. Well done! I loved this blog. (I hope you’re taking this one over to Elephant, too.)

    When written in a book by an intellectual guy like Kornfield it all sounds so, well, left-brained! I’m sure in practice it is much more intuitive and experiential.

    Personally I find the idea of infinite cosmic wonder more exciting than “reverence”, which sound far too much like what I was taught as a devout little Catholic altar boy.

    And if one just tunes into the wondrous reality of ordinary life, the bliss will pull one right in, I think, without having to overly intellectualize it, as in:

    “The Meaning of Life–Who Cares” http://wp.me/PlUox-pG

    with its highly relevant photo of roller coaster riding Tibetan monks!

    Thanks for a highly enjoyable and entertaining blog.

    Bob Weisenberg
    http://YogaDemystified.com

    • Hey Bob! Thanks for your comments, I’m glad you liked the post.

      I agree that “tuning-in” is really what practice is all about. Some just like alittle more cream and sugar in their tea.

      I’m glad you brought up terminology. I am also a former Catholic (via my mom) and former Greek Orthodox (via my dad), so I had a veritable ton of terminology that I had to rework into my life. I found that terms like reverence and liturgy or even prayer left a foul taste in my mouth so I rebeled agianst them and used other terms (spiritual, practice etc.). What I realize now though is that I needed something akin to a “hard shut down” of my perception of those terms. Once cleared from older perceptions I found some unique joy in the application of the terms and the rituals.

      I heard a astronomer talking about the reverence he had for the cosmos and realized that he had not one Christian or religious tie to that word. “Reverence” was tied to his day to day life and work which made it even more spectacular.

      I don’t like to over-intellectualize things when it comes to my practice. I don’t care about foundations in logic or Buddhist apologetics. I can about experience and affect. I think in that realm Zen (and tantric Buddhism) is similar to Yoga. You can try to write it down to explain it but you need to preface it with – “I’m sorry, but I know I messed this up by just trying to explain it”.

      You need to do to understand.

      Oh, I read your post and loved it, the picture is awesome too.

      Cheers,

      John

  3. Fudo Myo-o would explain the burning sensations coming from down under. And this while time I thought I had the clap.

  4. Thanks, Jack. I really enjoyed your reply, too. We’re definitely on the same wavelength. I was raised ultra-tradtional Catholic, married into a Jewish family and raised Jewish kids, one of whom is now Music Director for a synogog in Brooklyn ( http://www.joeyweisenberg.com ).

    Like you, I have now come full circle to the point where I can a least imagine what devotees experience in their churches and temples. I had to rebel completely against it all first, then approach it fresh through a Yoga perspective. But I’m still not interested in organized religion for myself.

    I agree Zen and Yoga are a lot a like at their core, just with very different emphasis and symbols.

    Bob Weisenberg
    http://YogaDemystified.com

    • I’m 100% with you on the organized religion part. In many ways the organized Buddhist religious organization raise the same issues with me as do the Christian ones.

      Now, I will be posting soon on the Yogacara school of Buddhism. You may find that one interesting. It is pretty much a fusion of Buddhism and Yoga that Zen derived much of its flavor from.

      Cheers,

      John

  5. john that yogacara business sounds very much like stuff i’m interested in just organically. i’m always trying to meld my mindfulness practice with my yoga. be sure and put references and stuff in there so i can keep a learnin

  6. The green Tara has a couple of hot sisters: white and red Taras with different mudras and aspects. Tantric Buddhist sex is not mentioned much in Blofeld but if you are interested, you can get a book on the practice of Vajrayogini, an uber hot red diety that wants you to have sexual fantasies about her. (seriuosly, but you have to die during the visualization…. (oh crap))

  7. Wow… the post got scrambled! Sorry to mess up your board, John!
    =====================
    ((disclaimer: no, honey, i’m not talking sex with other men on the internet. i’m exploring the nuances of elevation to illumination in preparation for rohatsu… really))

    No women commenting? You guys get Green Tara, we get Keanu Reeves as Sidd? No fair!

    quote: During sexual intercourse, he withdraws his mind from his immediate environment, equates his urge with the urge for Liberation and directs the force of it to his longing for the goal.

    If the urge (hehe) for Liberation includes liberating her, I’ll go along with that. I mean, I get it as a mindfulness practice which at its heart is about reverence for all life.

    I’m also remembering all the teachers that used this line on their female students. Anyway… not meaning to be a cold shower here…

    The thing about visualizations is I find they put a layer between self and other. Moi, I like my experience direct with no artificial sweetners. 🙂

    … unless we’re talking an evening with Sean Bean, Vigo Mortensen, Sean Bean…

  8. You do realize that consort practices (you know, the ones with the sexin’) are boy-girl, right? The homo-u-sexuality is all a no-no in Tantric Buddhism. Shhh…

    (Fudo Sama is a boy if that isn’t clear because of his man boobs!)

    • I included Fudo to spice it up a bit. It is strange how I always expect Buddhism to be more accepting of homosexuality than other religions. I suppose that it is in some ways (no sutra that I know of forbids it, no Words of God striking you down) but many organizations do forbid it I guess.

      I have heard about homosexual visualization practices with the Tibetan monastic community but I am far from a scholar in the Vajrayana.

      The esoteric school of Japan are interesting the hell out of me though. I would love to be able to exploreit more (not the visualization part).

      Cheers,

      John

  9. More than organizations. Haven’t you missed the ongoing, decades long flamewar concerning comments made by the Dalai Lama in the past (and others in the Tibetan leadership) about homosexuality?

    I’ve never heard of homosexual visualization within the Tibetan materials on old texts though I know of some teachers who have commented on it as ok during teachings to people who were gay and asked about it.

    Faure has some good academic work looking at homosexuality and monasticism in the context of (largely) Japanese Buddhism. In monastic environments, male homosexuality tends to come up as an issue quite a bit (m’kay?). 🙂

    I don’t give two shits, myself, but then I’m pro-rights for everyone and don’t care who is putting tab A into slot B (or C or D).

    As to the esoteric schoolS of Japan, good luck. I tried for quite a while to get a connection with those and have given up on the trying part, though I have made a small connection. There is almost no Tendai in the US and very little Shingon (a few temples on the West Coast) and neither teaches esoteric practices, as a rule, to non-ordained practitioners. You’re better off looking within the Tibetan Vajrayana community where stuff is much more openly, if unevenly, taught.

  10. Pingback: Bjork and “F#ck the Buddhists” « Sweep the dust, Push the dirt

  11. Pingback: Links of Great Interest 12/18/09 | The Hathor Legacy

Comments are closed.