Golden Children, Reincarnation and Fish-mongering

From the Wall Street Journal

Hunter’s pregnancy: According to Young, Hunter called him in May 2007 to say she was pregnant. Young says that when he informed Edwards, the senator told him to “handle it,” to which he replied: “I can’t handle this one.” Young writes that Edward unloaded on Hunter as a “crazy slut,” said they had an “open relationship,” and put his paternity chances at “one in three.” Young says that Edwards asked him for help persuading Hunter to have an abortion. Young writes that Hunter believed the baby to be “some kind of golden child, the reincarnated spirit of a Buddhist monk who was going to help save the world.”

I’m really not too interested in this sort of thing but the insistence upon something special involved in reincarnation seems to me just clinging.  All children are “golden children” and don’t need a story involving the reincarnated spirit of a monk to make them so….

That being said, I should just come out and admit that I am the reincarnated spirit of a Tibetan Fishermonger….or a Peruvian goat-herd (no, not the person herding the goats.  I mean the accumulated spirits of an entire herd of goats.  I can eat an entire tin can in one sitting).  And, as far as children go, I think this video shows that my little saṃsāra toddler has the spirit of a Zen master (and the attitude of Chugyam Trungpa).

Cheers,

John

8 thoughts on “Golden Children, Reincarnation and Fish-mongering

  1. I know I was Cleopatra in a former life. As was my wife, my dog (actually both my dogs) and the guy who lives down the street. Cleopatra was a big personality and it’s hard to get that all back in one body.

  2. yeah that’s jsut what Buddhism needs another association with crazies. We don’t even beleive in reincarnation. It’s rebirth, people. *sigh*

  3. I love this, because now it gives me license to start posting videos of my grandkids.

    As for reincarnation, how many Buddhist practitioners in the U.S. do you think believe in literal reincarnation, and if so, what exactly to they mean by it?

    (I ask I’ve been using reincarnation in discussions on Elephant Journal to counter the argument by some that Buddhism is always about strict reality, in contrast to other religions.)

    Bob Weisenberg
    http://YogaDemystified.com

  4. hi,
    i could hear the word she spoke, the last word near the dog something dah.. is my native language.. it is spoken usually to express frustration, but absolutely vulgar word.

  5. i could recognize her one word that is dha or dah . is this your word i mean in ur language? i am surprised to hear that word so clear from a child born in western country..by the i am Asian and i am buddhist too. i think if she shows some other signs take him to high lama or as u said zen master popular one .

    there she will be recognized, with some test like identifying some objects and naming her previous life place etc

  6. i have viewed it for again and heard her saying jadhak, ja dha, something jadha. i am really amazed. that word is spoken broadly by bhutanese people .

Comments are closed.