Garden of 1000 Buddhas

Beginning planning in 2003, the Buddha Garden is located in the Jocko Valley on the land of the Salish & Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation north of Arlee, Montana.  It is scheduled for completion fall of 2011.  Some more information follows from  the Buddha Garden website.

Many years ago Rinpoche had a vision of the Garden of 1,000 Buddhas constructed on this sacred land.  The Garden was surrounded by these mountains in Arlee and shaped like a lotus blossom with the Garden in the center.  Rinpoche recognized that this land is a sacred site and had been blessed by prayer for many generations by the Native American people. 

The original dream had included the 1,000 Buddha statues, but with the increasing violence after 2001, Rinpoche added the central statue of Yum Chenmo (Prajnaparamita), the Mother of all Buddhas, in order to help beings realize their true compassionate natures.  Underneath this central statue are items to represent the suppression of negativity, in the central area are sacred relics to increase peace and vitality of the earth, and within the statue are numerous texts of the Heart Sutra. 

There are also the relics of the Buddha and many masters of the past.  In 2009, the 40-foot pavilion of steel and copper was erected over Yum Chenmo.  The garden is a complete mandala that represents the Buddha’s teachings and represents the Peaceful Buddha Activity.  The entire garden is dedicated as a Peace Center.

Awesome.  I love randomly learning that something cool is only a few states over (although, granted, the state are quite large).  Ironically, I have some pretty decent molding/casting experience and can probably bang out Buddha statues like eating potato chips!  Either way, very cool and the statue of Prajnaparamita is very nice.

13 thoughts on “Garden of 1000 Buddhas

  1. Ah HA! Caught you. You’re not reading everything I post, multiple times, like I told you…

    Dude. You better plan to be here for the Dalai Lama visit to Montana, if nothing else. But bring the fam out before. Western Montana is truly awesome.

    • yes yes yes. I’m probably going to miss a post or two. Been a very busy two weeks but I will have some neat commentary on the 12 Nidanas coming out next week so it was all worth it. Completely reverent…sort of.

      Chances are by 2011 I’ll be sipping Schlitz in Newark but a family trip to Montana may be in the works if we can work out some schedules. I’ve been out to Western Montana several times and I do love it.

  2. Pingback: Buddha’s Words

  3. Pingback: How Can Outdoor Fountains Be Practical Gardening Gifts?

  4. Following in the badger’s footsteps, I’ve finally posted my pics from a visit to the Buddha barn:

    http://americanbuddhist.blogspot.com/2010/03/how-to-make-buddha.html

    It really is a great time and a great project. You’re welcome to crash at my place, John, if you make the long journey over here – plus they have overnight facilities at Ewam Arlee. And I hear they take ‘special’ guests to some very nice hot springs in the area, but you’d have to ask the Badger about that 🙂

    Cultivate the karma (intention) and you’ll be here for His Holiness, no doubt!

  5. Please someone, keep me posted as to when this dedication will take place? With a bit of “chemo brain” here I am not at my sharpest, but I would make the trek to Arlee for this event with the help of my husband and maybe a few other friends if I can drum them up to do this traveling. The Buddhist nurse there in Arlee from Nepal, (or was it Tibet?) and her Buddhist doctor friend from Berkeley, CA have both been here to Bozeman to treat folks and i have met them. OK, keep me posted? Thank you so much! :)K

  6. I love this project – in my purest state I think it’s not about the size or numbers of Buddha’s that count but the simplicity of his message to mankind. But then I remember its the intention – it is bringing together like minded people for joyous purpose – it is the journey rather than the destination. Love and compassion to all who are associated with this if I’m ever over it would be a great pleasure to see it. My favourite Dalai Lama quote is “Be kind whenever you can – you always can !”

    Kindest regards

    Ian

  7. How very wonderful to read your commentary and to know there are so many that are working collaboratively with such kind intention. I am a Montana resident and will see for myself this weekend this work of …heart.

Comments are closed.