Christian Turf War Against Buddhists

In yesterday’s guest post by Karen Anderson (a fantastic and honest post by the way), she mentioned that the…

Christian perception of Buddhism is that it is an intruder on its turf. Christians feel that Buddhists are a danger to them, because of their varying cultural and spiritual beliefs and their way of life. For them, it is an anathema to even think that there is no God (Buddhists follow a way of life, not a God), and that the Buddhists can think this way, makes them some kind of atheists who they cannot identify with.

and I felt that it may have been a bit of an overstatement.  Sure, I know Christians that do not believe that my personal religious practice is conductive to my afterlife, others flat out state that I will burn in Hell for my trangressions (read: lack of belief) against their God.  However, the vast majority do subscribe to the “live and let live” where we each pursue our own paths to the best of our abilities in this life.

Then I came across this…

Kentucky, USA (CHAKRA) – Interfaith religion supporters recently denounced acts of vandalism on a Buddhist temple in Louisville, Kentucky.

A local Buddhist temple was vandalized by culprits wanting to spread hatred and fear among the Buddhists in the area. These acts are counter to the areas efforts to build acceptance and religious tolerance among the community. The sign on the Phuoc Hau Temple on Old Third Street Road was vandalized with spray paint scribbling Buddha was “in hell” and “Jesus lives” spray painted on walkway leading to the temple. The Louisville Metro Police are scrutinizing the situation but no leads have been made yet. An anonymous tip line has been set up for community members to report to if they have seen anything related to the incident. Terry Taylor, executive director of the group Interfaith Paths to Peace said the act was “despicable” and that regardless of the religion involved, such acts should not go unnoticed.

I refuse to believe that anyone of any spiritual practice would do something this.  Perhaps, just a bunch of kids or drunk adults.  Something like this couldn’t be organized.  This won’t affect me…

Welcome to Repent Amarillo.  I especially enjoy their “Warfare Map”, bloody helmets, army motif and their mission of compassion…

Repent Amarillo is a repentance-based ministry dedicated to reaching out to the mission field of 67,000+ people in the Amarillo area who profess no faith in Jesus Christ. It is a ministry committed to the fulfillment of Christ’s commandment of the great commission. As Christians, we cannot stand by and watch 67,000 of our neighbors walking through the gates of hell. To all who have an ear to hear, we must speak out boldly. We must speak the truth. With that in our hearts, herein is our mission statement:
Ahhhh….Evangelical Christian compassion at its worse.

Calling Repent an “American Taliban,” blogger Charles Johnson notes that the group’s moniker “Army of God” is a rough translation of “Hezbollah.” Led by a man named David Grisham, a security guard at a nuclear-bomb facility called Pantex, Repent first gained media attention in Texas following a campaign to boycott Houston for electing a gay mayor. The group, which is associated with Raven Ministries, collaborates with other Christian groups as well as forced pregnancy advocacy associations like “Bound 4 Life.”

According to a new exposé by the Texas Observer, Repent set out earlier this year to destroy a discreet club of swingers they discovered in town. On New Years eve, the harassment began, with Repent members, almost exclusively young men, showing up in military fatigues and bullhorns, blaring Christian music at the swingers’ club building. The swingers, made up of “regulars” of middle aged, working class couples, were then stalked at every following visit to the club. Repent not only took video of each member, but obtained the swingers’ license plates and dug through their trash, informing neighbors and coworkers of what was once private.

Cheers,
John
8 thoughts on “Christian Turf War Against Buddhists

  1. I laughed about the “Budduhs in hell” tag. Yeah, I know it’s not cool, but their ignorance shined through so bright that it made me laugh. Luckily, some elbow grease and Goo-B-Gone will take care of that situation.

    As for the Repent Amarillo people, I have nothing constructive to say. I would like to say that I feel compassion for people like that, or feel sorry for them, but I don’t. I will stop there.

    Cheers.

  2. As I commented on Karen’s post yesterday, it’s sad but true that a (seemingly) growing number of “Christians” are no longer following the teachings of Christ regarding loving one’s neighbors (fyi as most of us know, “neighbors” doesn’t mean next door or down the block…it means ALL fellow humans!)…

    Sometimes it is hard to FEEL loving. But as humans we can curb our base impulses to act in negative ways.

    My own family-of-origin contains some rather fanatical Xtians who recently emailed me saying they hope I was not involved (I was in India at the time volunteering w/Tibetan community) w/ what they’d heard was a “recent Buddhist slaughter of missionaries in India” (an fictitious event in a fictitious location they’d read about on an end-times blog!).

    Christianity is not the problem. Buddhism is not the problem. Human beings with small minds living in fear and exhibiting the fight or flight instinct are the problem.

    I send them love and deep inner peace. They need it.

  3. Nice roundup of this issue. But you know, I don’t believe that “more” Christians are doing this. I think it’s the same number of Christians doing all this nonsense. it’s just that in this age of instant media with Twitter and Digg and Reddit, etc., that these activities are getting more exposure, so it looks like an increase of activity.

    I’m no longer a subscriber, but for years I subscribed to Klan Watch from the Southern Poverty Law Center. This stuff has been going on for ever. And the general antipathy many Christians hold toward contrary systems of belief has always been there as well. It just used to be hidden and more localized. Plus, these adherents to such extreme expressions of their faith used to be isolated. But like pedophiles, the Internet brought them a medium through which they could communicate with each other, which in turn emboldens them to act out more frequently.

  4. I think these people are an abomination on everything the Christian Jesus stood for. My beliefs will not be divulged here because this is a public site, and I am intending to be more mindful about offending people that I have no personal knowledge of. On that note, I will say that though it is not my own spiritual choice, I was raised in an active Southern Baptist family in Mississippi and graduated from a Church of God Christian high school in 2002. I am not uneducated in Christianity, and most people of most religious beliefs would probably agree that whether you follow it or not, the moral code and values of the Christian religion are very good at the base. What these people are doing in Amarillo is not based on any good. They are scaring and harassing others for not sharing their beliefs. We pride ourselves in this country for being open and accepting others. Freedom is supposed to be our foundation, and what this group specifically counters that. Doesn’t that make them a terrorist organization? I think that by hiding behind the word “Jesus”, they are taking advantage of the freedom of religion to rob exploit that privilege from others. This is wrong for anyone, especially someone claiming to represent an entire community of people who I am sure do not all share their lust for control or support these actions. I feel they are acting like a terrorist group, and should be treated as such.

  5. Grammatical corrections:
    Line 13………, and what that group does specifically……
    Line 15………of religion to rob and exploit that……..

    I know most of you figured out what what missing, but I’m a little OCD, so for my own good, if you didn’t catch them, there ya go. Lol. 🙂 Happy Friday, America.

  6. You know……..I’ve looked at this issue many times over my life. I was orphaned at 8, and lived in foster care from 12-16, each place I went had a different religion and would tell me that the people I’d just come from were wrong, and their religion is the only right one. At age 18 I turned my back on Christianity that I’d learned and went to find my own path. At around age 30, I came across a philosophy known as Tao.

    The stuff spoke to me very much, and I decided to start following it as a philosophy and a way of life. Interestingly enough, there was enough truth in it to allow me to quench the hatred that I’d felt towards Christians, and, when I turned 41, I met a person who introduced me to Judaic theology. A very special thing was discovered when I started to study some of it……..it was REMARKABLY close to Taoist teachings.

    Now…….if people like these Repent Amarillo types want to tell us that there is only 1 religion and that everyone should follow it…….well…….they may wish to read Revelation (yeah, you’d think they already did, right), and look where it talks about the anti-Christ, who is going to unite the world under 1 religion and 1 world government.

    You’d think that such “studied Christians” would have caught that piece of the puzzle. Besides, we saw what happened in this country when people started to “out purify” people and tell then where they were going bad, it was called the Salem Witch Trials, brought to us by them good old Puritans.

    Besides, can anyone imagine a world where there was only 1 floor plan for a house, all families were dressed the same and looked the same?

    It would be a world of clones, which does nobody any good, because you can’t advance new ideas.

    Need proof? See Galileo and Copernicus and their conflict with the church.

  7. These Repent Christians should be ashamed of themselves. Buddhists have been around a lot longer than these idiots and I don’t even call them Christians. They should be loving people and understanding them. Because a true Christians will have the light of Christ in them and when people see them they’ll see Christ. No, these people hate and I’m going to pray for them.

Comments are closed.