The Three Yānas in Buddhist Practice


The fllowing is provided with kindness by @rGyatso just in time for some light Saturday reading.


These Three Yānas or Vehicles are the Hīnayāna, the Mahāyāna, and the Vajrayāna. These three Vehicles of practice are called the “Three Turnings of the Wheel.” This indicates that, in the tradition, the Buddha himself, either in person, that is, in the Nirmānakāya or Form-Body, or in more transcendent emanation, as the Sambhogakāya or Dharmakāya emanations, taught the fundamental basis of each of these Three Vehicles of practice. Thus, each of these three is an authentic teaching of the Buddha…

Download this file